You have turned off cookies for this site. Please enable cookies for a better browsing experience.
Please upgrade your web browser
You are using an unsupported browser. See our supported browsers to enjoy the very best experience of our site.

Hong Kong Transit Visa Waiver for Sri Lankan Nationals

Latest update: 15 May 2018 18:00 IST (GMT+05:30)

Sri Lankan nationals in direct transit by air and not leaving Hong Kong International Airport are exempted from Hong Kong transit visa when travelling on Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon provided they are holding valid visas to The United States of America, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, The Republic of Korea, United Kingdom or Schengen states and fulfilling the following conditions:

  • Transit between Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon flights at Hong Kong International Airport only.
  • Transit time in Hong Kong is less than 12 hours.
  • If the visas for aforementioned countries are used or expired, Sri Lankan nationals can still be granted airside transit visa exemption in Hong Kong on their return trip to Sri Lanka provided they are returning from the aforementioned countries they were holding visas for.
  • Sri Lankan nationals intending to leave Hong Kong International Airport or use hotel accommodation arranged by Cathay Pacific, Cathay Dragon or any other party during their transit in Hong Kong, are still required to hold valid transit visa for Hong Kong.

Should you not be eligible for the waiver, please ensure to obtain necessary visas for transit via Hong Kong before commencing your journey.